Australian A-League Betting Tips

If you’re looking for¬†Australian A-League betting tips then you’ve come to the right place! We’ve been covering the A-League with our tips as well as dedicated Team News and In Play tips since the beginning of The Footy Tipster. This means we like to think we can offer you the best tips and advice for this league.

What is the Australian A-League?

Australian A-League LogoThis is the top men’s football league in Australia. It was only established in 2004 making it a relatively new league, especially when you compare it to how long some of the European leagues have been running for!

The competition structure is pretty interesting, the majority of the competition is in league form, then at the end of the season the highest placed teams go into play-offs to be crowned Champion (winners of the League are dubbed Premier).

This structure is fairly commonplace in Australian football, but you don’t see it in the European competitions you may be more used to.

Winners of the Australian A-League get a place in the AFC Champions League. As you can imagine, competition is fierce!

Unlike most European Leagues another unique feature of the Australian A-League is that there is no promotion or relegation of the teams. You basically get a place in the play-off of you don’t.

Right now there are 10 teams in the league;

  • Adelaide United
  • Brisbane Roar
  • Central Coast Mariners
  • Melbourne City
  • Melbourne Victory
  • Newcastle Jets
  • Perth Glory
  • Sydney FC
  • Wellington Phoenix
  • Western Sydney Wanderers

The oldest team in the competition is Brisbane Roar, who were founded in 1957, the newest, formed in 2012 is Western Sydney Wanderers.

You can find out more at the official league website.

Australian A-League Team News

One of the services we offer in our members only tips is relevant team news. We don’t do this for every competition for the Australian A-League is one we feel confident enough in that we can provide value with team news.

This means that you will get access to relevant information that will help inform your betting decisions.

Australian A-League Rivalries

When making informed betting decisions it pays to know who the rivalries are in a competition, teams who normally don’t perform can end up playing out of their skin when it comes to fending off a rival!

There are 5 main rivalries in the Australian A-League;

  • Melbourne Victory vs Sydney FC
  • Adelaide United vs Melbourne Victory
  • Central Coast Mariners vs Newcastle Jets
  • Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory
  • Syndey FC v Western Sdyney Wanderers

I don’t know what they put in the half-time water at Melbourne Victory, but they seem to have sparked up rivalries all around them!

Why we love the Australian A-League

Apart from some of the value we can see from a betting perspective, one of the reasons we love the Australian A-League is that the games are generally very entertaining and normally they are quite goal filled.

The games are generally played very early morning UK time.

Of course with goal filled games aplenty you can see why we think In Play betting could be valuable for this particular league.

Want some Australian A-League Betting Tips?

If you’re interested in reading our coverage of the Australian A-League then please check out our daily betting tips. If you want even more, including the team news I alluded to earlier, you should consider becoming a member.